Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

National Team Honor

National Team Honor

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - - Belmont University men's basketball has been named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) NCAA Division I Team of the Week, the organization announced Tuesday.

Belmont (15-4) earned two top 100 road victories last week, defeating Murray State Jan. 24 and Austin Peay Jan. 26. The Bruins ended the Racers' 18 game home winning streak and did so in front of a Murray State CFSB Center record crowd.

Two days later, Belmont would score 47 points in the final 13:58 of regulation to defeat Austin Peay.

For the week, the Bruins shot 58 percent from the field and handed out 45 assists in the two victories.

Senior Kevin McClain (Jennings, Fla.) earned his second OVC Player of the Week award Monday.

Belmont becomes the seventh NCAA Division I men's basketball program honored in 2018-19 as part of the NABC Team of the Week program.

Belmont returns to game action Thursday, Jan. 31 vs. Southeast Missouri. Tip-off is set for 7 p.m. CT from the Curb Event Center.

2018-19 NABC Division I Teams of the Week

Dec. 4 - Radford

Dec. 11 - Tennessee

Dec. 18 – Penn

Jan. 8 – Iowa State

Jan. 15 – Ole Miss

Jan. 22 – Hofstra

Jan. 29 - Belmont

Belmont University men's basketball has earned postseason invitations 12 of the last 13 seasons, including seven automatic berths to the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have won 16 conference championships since 2006 - third-most nationally over that span (Gonzaga, Kansas). Belmont is one of only six NCAA Division I programs outside the Power 5 to post Top 100 RPIs eight consecutive seasons (BYU, Gonzaga, Saint Mary's (CA), San Diego State, Wichita State). Belmont is one of only nine NCAA Division I programs to win 19 or more games 13 consecutive seasons (BYU, Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Louisville, Michigan State, North Carolina, San Diego State). Belmont University men's basketball boasts an NCAA-leading 16 CoSIDA Academic All-America selections since 2001 and is one of only three NCAA Division I programs to make the NCAA Academic Progress Rate (APR) Honor Roll every year of existence.