Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

All-OVC WBB Honors

All-OVC WBB Honors

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Led by Ohio Valley Conference Player of the Year Darby Maggard, the regular-season champion Belmont women's basketball team has earned three 2018-19 All-OVC individual honors, the league office announced Tuesday.

Maggard (Larwill, Ind.) was named to the All-OVC First Team for a fourth straight season and picked up Belmont's first ever OVC Player of the Year award after finishing as runner-up a year ago. She was joined on the First Team by junior Ellie Harmeyer (Kenosha, Wis.). Senior Jenny Roy (Brentwood, Tenn.) just missed out on First Team honors and was the first player listed for the Second Team. It's Roy's second consecutive season earning that recognition.

Belmont's terrific trio led the team to a 23-6 record and its third straight regular-season OVC title. This is the fourth year in a row the Bruins have drawn at least three All-OVC selections.

Maggard's Player of the Year award is the culmination of a record-setting career that ranks among the best in OVC history. She is the first player to earn four straight All-OVC First Team nods since UT Martin's Heather Butler did it from 2011-14.

Of course it was Butler who owned the OVC's career 3-point record before Maggard broke it in February. Maggard became just the fifth player ever in NCAA Division I women's basketball to reach 400 career made 3-pointers, and her 418 currently ranks fourth in D-I history.

This season has been Maggard's most productive of that illustrious career. The 5-foot-5 point guard is averaging 17.4 points per game with 4.2 assists. She's broken the 100-made 3-pointer barrier for the fourth straight season and is shooting 41.2 percent from deep and 44.0 percent from the field overall. Her late season push may have helped her clinch the Player of the Year title. She averaged 25.0 points in Belmont's final five games including a career-high 34-point outing.

Harmeyer has enjoyed a breakout season for the Bruins in her first year as a full-time starter. She ranks in the top five in the league in scoring (16.9 ppg) and rebounding (9.1 rpg) and has had a dozen double-doubles on the season. She's scored 20 points or more 10 times and is shooting 48.5 percent from the field.

The 6-foot forward has been at her best in the biggest moments. Harmeyer put up 20 points with 10 rebounds at then 10th-ranked Tennessee and averaged 27.0 points and 10.5 rebounds in two heavyweight bouts with rival UT Martin. That included a career-best 30-point game.

Roy has served the unheralded role among Belmont's big three but has been no less valuable. Roy leads the OVC in assists with 5.6 per game and pairs that with 9.3 points and 7.8 rebounds for the most well-rounded stat line in the conference. She is one of only two players in the nation averaging at least 9.0 points, 7.5 rebounds and 5.5 assists per game.

She logged just the third triple-double of Belmont's NCAA era with 10 points, 10 rebounds and 10 assists at Austin Peay on Jan. 26 and also recorded the program's first 20-rebound game in more than a decade two games later. She's just a single point shy of 1,000 for her career entering the OVC Tournament.

Morehead State was the only other OVC program to earn two First Team selections and three All-OVC individual honors overall.

Belmont takes the No. 1 seed into the OVC Tournament this week, facing No. 8 Southeast Missouri on Wednesday in the tournament's first round at the Ford Center in Evansville, Ind. Tipoff is slated for 1 p.m. with action streaming live on ESPN+ and the Watch ESPN app. An audiocast will be carried on Bruin Sports Network.


2018-19 OVC Player of the Year

Darby Maggard, Belmont

2018-19 OVC Freshman of the Year

Macey Turley, Murray State

2018-19 OVC Defensive Player of the Year

Emanye Robertson, UT Martin

2018-19 OVC Coach of the Year

Kim Rosamond, Tennessee Tech


First Team

Darby Maggard, Belmont

Evelyn Adebayo, Murray State

Ellie Harmeyer, Belmont

Miranda Crockett, Morehaed State

Tesia Thompson, Southeast Missouri

Emanye Robertson, UT Martin

Keisha Gregory, Austin Peay

Aliyah Jeune, Morehead State

Jordan Brock, Tennessee Tech

Rayven Perason, Jacksonville State


Second Team

Jenny Roy, Belmont

Chelsey Perry, UT Martin

McKenzie Calvert, Morehead State

Macey Turley, Murray State

Tia Wooten, Tennessee State


All-Newcomer Team

Evelyn Adebayo, Murray State

Aliyah Jeune, Morehead State

Macey Turley, Murray State

Brittni Moore, UT Martin

Destiney Elliott, Jacksonville State